a 2:32 minute video to help you understand the steps of the research process (from IUPUI University Library)

this 5 minute tutorial will help you deconstruct an assignment to its basic parts and identify appropriate sources to complete it successfully

this resource describes some steps you can take to better understand the requirements of your writing assignments

a 5:04 video covering strength, clarity of purpose, specific targets, and an interesting story (from Shmoop)

From Purdue's OWL Writing Lab - this resource provides tips for creating a thesis statement and examples of different types of thesis statements.

this video explains what background research is, why it's important, and how to find it (from Loyola Marymount University)

How to get started with research by developing a good research question (from Steely Library, NKU); 4:33 minutes.

this 6 minute tutorial will help you develop an appropriate topic for a research paper by considering goals, approaches, topic scope and helpful resources

this 6:33 minute video covers tools and techniques for choosing, narrowing and filtering research topics

Research Strategies: Part 1 Learn how to find a good topic, come up with keywords, create search strings and use limiters to get the best information for your research project; 5:47 minutes.

Learn how to use subject headings, find cited references, and how shelf browsing can help you find the best resources for your research project; 4:55 minutes.

This 5 minute tutorial will help you generate effective search terms for internet or database searching

this short video (2:41) covers developing keywords that you can use in the library's databases (from Pfau Library).

In this video, you will learn what is especially valuable about library resources, versus what you can find for free on the internet (from NEIU's Ronald Williams Library)

In this short video, you will learn what a database is (vs. a website or search engine), and how to evaluate which database may be best suited for your own research (from NEIU Ronald Williams Library).

In this short video, you will learn how to create and use keywords based on your research topic to search in an academic database (from NEIU Ronald Williams Library)

Guidelines for considering the authority of the source, the type and purpose, and the context (from Steely Library, Northern Kentucky University; 4:16 minutes.

This video shows how to assess the authority, accuracy, currency, relevance, and objectivity of sources for academic writing and research (from Brigham Young University)

From Purdue's OWL Writing Lab - this site provides information on evaluating bibliographic citations, aspects of evaluation, reading evaluation, print vs. Internet sources, and evaluating Internet sources.

In this short video, you will learn how to evaluate the difference between scholarly journals and other kinds of periodicals, and how to describe the peer-review process (from NEIU Ronald Williams Library)

A brief video explains the difference between primary, secondary, and tertiary sources by using examples.

a short video tutorial that clarifies how to best evaluate the information found on websites

This 2.08 minute video shows the basic 3-part outline of an academic paper.

Use this excellent site as a reference point for all types of writing, research, and citation questions.

this 5 minute tutorial will help you effectively structure sources, include analysis and use sources to support an argument

this video gives you tools for appropriately paraphrasing, quoting, or summarizing from academic sources

a short video on literature reviews and reviewing the liteature from Steely Liararyk (2:11 minutes)

In this video, you will learn why citing correctly is important for your research, and how to quickly analyze whether your own work falls in line with university guidelines about academic honesty (from NEIU's Ronald Williams Library)

a short video (2:53) full of tips on how to give an effective presentation

this 6:36 vidcast introduces viewers to visual rhetoric and how visual rhetoric may be used in various modes of written communication (from Purdue's OWL Writing Lab)

Who owns the information that you are including in your paper or presentation? How can you make sure you are using the resources that others have created in a fair way? This 4:16 minute video outlines copyright and fair use.

this 2-minute video from Common Sense Education explains how copyrighted information can be used in papers and presentations

this 3:05 minute video explain the value of information and how to use it ethically